Skip to Main Content
Chico State

38 Special Athletes

CCAA All-Academic

Consistently the most successful program athletically in the California Collegiate Athletic Association, Chico State also boasts one of the conference’s top academic track records. This spring was no exception, as 38 Wildcats earned CCAA All-Academic honors – second most among the conference’s institutions.

The award is presented to student-athletes in who competed in a CCAA-sponsored spring sport and boast a cumulative grade point average of 3.3 or higher.

Four Wildcats earned the honor for the third time: Clayton Gelfand (baseball), Justin Woo (track and field), Kayla Lawson (track and field), and Aryana Carvalho-Mires (track and field).

Sixteen Wildcats received it for the second time: Josh Falco and Jimbo Pernetti (baseball); Eddie King, Steven Martinez, Kelly McConnell, Will Reyes, and Steven Velarde (men’s track and field); Marina Berrios, Jami Duarte, Veronica Garcia, Haley Kroll, Montana Loveday, Elyssa Schall, Lauren Schnelli, Aja Erskine, and Jenavieve Turner (women’s track and field).

The men’s golf team had four first-time honorees and tied for the conference lead for that sport. Women’s track and field led the way with 17.

Women’s golf is not a CCAA-sponsored sport, but is scheduled to become one in 2017-18.

The CCAA Spring All-Academic Awards is the third and final seasonal honor presented to conference athletes; earlier, fall and winter sports were spotlighted. Later this summer the CCAA will hand out a set of All-Academic Awards that includes all student-athletes competing during the 2015-16 academic year.

Chico State athletes winning CCAA All-Academic awards for the spring of 2017:

Women’s Track and Field
Athlete                          Year    Major 
Marina Berrios              Jr.        Social Work
Aryana Carvalho-Mires Sr.       Exercise Physiology
Erica Davis                    Jr.        Exercise Physiology
Jami Duarte                  Sr.       Community Service & Health Care Management
Aja Erskine                    Sr.       Cellular and Molecular Biology
Megan Farrell                So.       Cellular and Molecular Biology
McCall Habermehl        Sr.       Credential Program
Grace Hepworth           So.       Pre-Nursing/Exercise Physiology
Veronica Garcia            So.       Pre-Nursing/Nutrition and Food Science
Sadie Gastelum            Sr.       Kinesiology
Haley Kroll                     Sr.       Credential Program
Kayla Lawson                Sr.       Business Administration
Montana Loveday         Jr.        Cellular and Molecular Biology
Marissa McNeal            Jr.        Pre-Nursing/Psychology
Elyssa Schall                 So.       Exercise Physiology
Lauren Schnelli             Sr.       Criminal Justice
Jenavieve Turner          Jr.        Pre-Nursing/Exercise Physiology

Men’s Track and Field
Athlete                          Year    Major 
Caton Avilla                  Jr.        Kinesiology
Chad Baur                     Sr.       Criminal Justice
Eddie King                    So.       Graphic Design
Steven Martinez           Sr.       Kinesiology
Dalton McBride            Jr.        Recreation Administration/Spanish
Kelly McConnell           Jr.        Exercise Physiology
Bret McNamee             So.       Computer Science
William Reyes               Sr.       Community Service & Health Care Management
Steven Velarde             So.       Psychology
Justin Woo                    Sr.       Kinesiology

Athlete                          Year    Major 
Megan Bowley              So.       Psychology
Claire Wayne                 So.       Communication Sciences and Disorders

Athlete                          Year    Major 
Dan Beavers                  Jr.        Criminal Justice
Josh Falco                     Sr.       Sociology
Clayton Gelfand            Sr.       Business Management
Jimbo Pernetti               Sr.       Exercise Physiology
Trevor Steinman            Jr.        Communication Studies

Men’s Golf
Athlete                          Year    Major 
Henning Hogmoen        Sr.       Business Finance
TJ Kathrineberg             Jr.        Psychology
Jordan Oliver                 So.       Business Finance
Kelley Sullivan               So.       Business Accounting

This post originally appeared on